RECIPE: syn free quinoa porridge

Sometimes I struggle with finding filling breakfasts on the slimming world plan that don’t use all my daily syns. I normally have fruit and yoghurt but sometimes this doesn’t keep me full for very long. So after seeing a few pictures on Instagram of people having quinoa for breakfast i thought I would give it a go!
Don’t get me wrong I would much rather have a bowl of oat porridge any day but when I’m trying to stick to my syns and I know I will want my healthy extra b later on in the day this is a good alternative.

1 oz of rinsed quinoa
250 ml milk (I use kara coconut milk so this is 1/2 my healthy extra a)
200 ml of water

Soak the quinoa in the milk for 10-15 minutes then add mix to a saucepan.
Bring to the boil then reduce the heat to a simmer for 25 mins stirring regularly.

Thats it! I top mine with muller light yoghurt, fresh fruit and nuts and seeds (2 syns) and cinnamon. This keeps me full all morning and if I didn’t have the nuts this would be syn free.

IMG_3265.JPG

K x

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

